5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 30, 2012 5:32 AM by Sunil Jain RSS

QlikView & SAP - How to Begin?

Gabriel Palucoski

I will start developing some applications that will utilize data from SAP, as I have no knowledge of the SAP database, I wonder if there are any examples of qvw's that I can study ... Thank you.

• QlikView & SAP - How to Begin?
    Ferran Garcia Pagans

I'm not an expert in SAP development, I've only developed 2 small apps but I would focus in 2 points: connectivity and data model.

Usually SAP environments are complicated and you can extract data from many places R3 Tables, Infocubes,... where is the data you are going to use? Depending on where is the data you are going to use a specifc SAP Connector or a specific extraction method.

If you are going to access the Database you can use the SAP SQL Connector. Wiht this connector QlikView has developed templates applications for different SAP modules. Each SAP template has 2 different, the 1st app is an extractor that access SAP tables and creates a QV data model and the second a app is a UI. This is the template for SAP FI.

http://community.qlik.com/docs/DOC-2012

You can take a look in the templates to understand how this specific connector works and to see different SAP modules tables.

You also will need a dictionary. With SAP SQL Connector you can use an app called script builder  to access your SAP and build a 'dictionary'. ScripBuilder is provided with the connector, also you can find dictionaries with a good description on SAP data model in the web.

Ferran.

Sunil Jain

first , understand the functional flow of SAP system and then according to model the data in qlikview.

Victor Angoa

Hello

SAP has a functional structure, coorporativa society, a society, accounting structure, a structure of accounts, types of cost. and much more.

SAP is divided into functional modules, MM PP FI CO SD to tell you some.