Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to hide List Box values when no matching rows exist?

Hello,

Noob here.  I've completed the tutorial and am now digging in.  I've imported some data from our data warehouse: some of a fact table of sales, some of the customer records, and the entire Date dimension.  All's working well so far, but since my Date dimension includes dates wherein our company didn't even exist yet, my "Year" list box contains years that can't possibly be associated with sales data.  How can I hide years in the "Year" list box when no data for those rows exist?

Please pardon, but I don't know what "Categories" to check at the bottom of this discussion thread entry.  This is my first thread.

Thanks,
Eric

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

We typically don't try to hide data. It's not the "Qlikview way" (see http://qlikviewnotes.blogspot.com/2012/01/power-of-gray.html). For your case, we limit the dimension data load to match the fact data. Several ways to do this.

1. An explicit range limit on the Date LOAD. For example:

WHERE Year >= year(today(1)) - 4  // last 4 years

2. Load only dates that have facts. Assume your fact date field is OrderDate. On the Date LOAD:

WHERE EXISTS(OrderDate, DateDimField)

3. From the earliest fact date forward:

tempdate:

LOAD min(OrderDate) as mindate RESIDENT Orders;

LET vMindate = peek('mindate');

DROP TABLE tempdate;

On the Date LOAD:

WHERE DateDimField >= $(vMindate)

-Rob

http://robwunderlich.com

View solution in original post

6 Replies
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP