Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

selectively load columns from table

Hi Experts,

I'm new to qlikview and I'm not sure how to achieve the following requirement. Given a table with 24 months revenue columns such as [Jan PY Rev] to [Dec CY Rev]. I want to load the columns based on this requirement:

1) Load column = current month - 2; for example, if current month is Jul, load column should be May or [May CY Rev].

2) load column = current month - 3; if current month is Jul, load column = [Apr CY Rev].

3) load column = current month of least year;  if current is Jul, load Jul of last year, the column is [Jul PY Rev].

I have tried using expression such as nested if(current month=1, [Jan CY Rev], if (current month=2, [Feb CY Rev]...etc)) as current_month_year. This works fine for the current month and last year of same month. However, it does not work for two and three months ago scenarios where let's say current month is January [Jan CY Rev], the 2 and 3 previous months are [Nov PY Rev] and [Oct PY Rev] because at the beginning of the current month, the previous months rolls back to previous month; that is why it does not work. Then I started trying to load the fields and rename them to numeric so I can use the expression to dynamically load the columns corresponding to the numeric number. For instance, load [Jan PY Rev] as Rev1 all the way to [Dec CY Rev] as Rev24 and use if (current month=1, Rev1 or substitute 1 with a variable, qlikview says Rev1 not found. I don't know any other way to make this to work. Any sample is appreciated. Thanks. Quoc

9 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi,

See attachment,

TabA:

CrossTable(Label, Value,1)

LOAD * INLINE [