Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How do I load Data in my Extension without using an expression?

Hi all Qlik Sense Developers,

I'm Pretty new to the world of extensions and javascript, so I hope my question will be clear:

I want to use data which I do not give the extension through a expression, is there a way that I can acces my data from the application in my extension and not use qHyperCube?

layout.qFieldList gives me an array with all columns in my dataset, but I can not acces the data which is in these columns. Is there a method which I can call from qlikview.currApp() ?

Hope you guys can help me .

6 Replies
ErikWetterberg

Hi Martien,

You do not need to use the functions in the mashup interface (qlik.currApp()) to get data to your extension. Instead you set up your data structure with initialProperties and set up a property panel where the user can set up Dimensions and Measures in the definition part of the extension.

Most extensions use a HyperCube. Check out the extension examples PeopleChart and SimpleTable for examples of this. Measures are not mandatory, it's perfactly OK to use only Dimensions. The rows in the HyperCube will represent the combination of Dimension values available in your data.

An option if you want only one Dimension (or Field) is to use a ListObject. An example of that is available in HorizList example. The rows in the ListObject are simply all values for the field.

Not applicable
Author

Hi Erik,

Tnx for your quick response, I think my question wasn't clear enough.