Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Creating a variable/Column(Using SQL) in Qlik sense data load editor

Hi,

I am new to qlik and am not yet completely familiar with the basics of scripting language in Qlik.

I am trying to achieve a simple indicator which tells me if a account is new or not.

below is a sample of how the data is structured(I have not shown the other variables)

acct.PNG

In the above scenario 2 and 4 are new accts as they opened in 2015.

I am thinking of simply using min(date) at a account level = '01/01/2015' to create a column that flags a acct as new/old.

(Data is loaded from excel for now but might be loaded from a SQL ODBC connector in the future)

I used the below code in the MAIN section just to check what happens. It threw a error as expected.

SQL :

select [ACCT],MIN( CASE when [Snapshot Date]='01/01/2015' THEN 1 else 0 end as [INDICATOR])

from [Sheet 1]

GROUP BY [ACCT];

How/where should I place this SQL query? Is it right at all in the first place.

Is there a way to achieve this simply in the App itself?

Is someone can provide a detailed syntax that will be great as I am starting completely fresh on this tool.

Thanks in advance!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Gysbert_Wassenaar

If you're loading from an excel file the use LOAD instead of SELECT:

LOAD

[ACCT],

MIN( IF( [Snapshot Date]='01/01/2015' , 1 ,0)) as [INDICATOR]

FROM

'lib://MyFiles/MyExcelFile.xlsx' (ooxml, embedded labels, table is [Sheet 1]);

GROUP BY

[ACCT];

Depending on what your excel file contains you may need to use another comparison in the if statement. Perhaps this: If([Snapshot Date] = MakeDate(2015), 1, 0)

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand

View solution in original post

9 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar