Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Defining Variables

I am still new to Qikview - I am looking at an example from this forum

4 variables are defined in the script but on the objects there are 4 more variables available

vStartdate, VEndDate are 2 of them

They seem to derive their values from a calendar input object , as i change the dte in the calendar object the value of the variable changes

- but how do I define the variable??

i.e.vStartDate = entered date in calendar object

where in Qlikview doI define these variables and where do i find their definitions - i caan only see the value not how it is derived

sorry - this is probably a really simple question but i am stumped

thanks

9 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hello,

You can see the definition under Settings menu --> Variable Overview option.

Regards,

Not applicable
Author

Thanks so much for the quick reply - my problem is i can't?

in the variable overview box it lists the variables in variables but when i click on one - it just shows me 39542

if i pick a new date in the calendar object - this value changes - but I can't seem to access how the value is calculated

Not applicable
Author

I downloaded the file from this post

The Basics about Dates, Date Ranges and Set Analysis

11-05-2010
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

I'm not sure what you mean by "how it is derived". The calendar input object is almost certainly the way these variables are entered.

You can see variable definitions here:

Settings -> Document Properties -> Variables