cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Data Upload taking too long

Hi,

I am new to Qlik. I am facing an issue while loading a huge CSV file into Qlik. My approach is first to generate a QVD file. But generation of this file is taking too long aprox 20 mins. The data size is 1.2 GB and my system RAM is 8 Gb.

Please provide me some suggestions which can expedite my process

14 Replies
vinafidalgo
Partner - Creator
Partner - Creator

The time against the file size seems normal to me.

Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Well, if text files would have been lightning-fast all along, nobody would have had the crazy idea to invent all sorts of databases. I guess that keeping your data simple & readable comes with a performance disadvantage. A huge one.

If you cannot change the packaging of your data or the nature of the transfer, the best solution is maybe to buy a system with an extremely fast I/O-channel. SSD's aren't that exclusive or expensive anymore. A server has better I/O performance by offering faster interfaces and and in many cases parallelizing disk access...

Peter

Colin-Albert

Have you tried using Debug mode with a limited load of say 1000 rows to test that your data load is creating sensible data?

or add a First 1000 command before your load to test the data.

First 1000

load

from ...

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

‌yes I did it First 1000.My thinking was can I implement some kind of best practices like segregation of Timestamp to reduce the size, or splitting the data into smaller data sets. But than I will have to use joins to get the complete data set in my dashboard

Colin-Albert

Hi Fayez,

Look at implementing an incremental load using concatenate not joins.

Concatenate is the equivalent of a SQL union, and will append additional rows (and columns) into an existing table.