Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How do I disregard lower date boundary?

Hi there!

I am fairly new to Qlik and trying to create an expression that let's me calculate distinct customer count between 1/1/2016 and a given date (basically YTD). The user would select start date and end date (e.g., May 1, 2016 - May 31,2016). I am trying to see a) how you can get YTD count from 1/1/2016 and your upper date range (e.g. May 31, 2016) and b) how you would calculate the difference between the YTD count from 1/1/2016 to lower date range (May 1, 2016) YTD count from 1/1/2016 to upper date range. Any help would be great!

I've tried the following below:

Count({<[Transaction_Date.autoCalendar.Year]= ,

[Transaction_Date.autoCalendar.Quarter]= ,

[Transaction_Date.autoCalendar.Month]= ,

[Transaction_Date.autoCalendar.Week]= ,

Transaction_Date = {"$(='>=' & Date(AddYears(YearStart(Max(Transaction_Date)), -1),'DD/MM/YYYY') & '<=' & Date(AddYears(Max(Transaction_Date), -1), 'DD/MM/YYYY'))"}>} Distinct Customer_ID)

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

This does look quite correct to me (note that you are using Addyears() to actually get the last year to date), if the format code 'DD/MM/YYYY' matches the format of your Transaction_Date field and if you then select a date in that field, what do you get returned?

Zero, NULL or something else? what do you expect to see for that date range?

YTD Max Date:

Transaction_Date = {"$(='>=' & Date(YearStart(Max(Transaction_Date)),'DD/MM/YYYY') & '<=' & Date(Max(Transaction_Date), 'DD/MM/YYYY'))"}>} Distinct Customer_ID)

YTD Min Date:

Transaction_Date = {"$(='>=' & Date(YearStart(Min(Transaction_Date)),'DD/MM/YYYY') & '<=' & Date(Min(Transaction_Date), 'DD/MM/YYYY'))"}>} Distinct Customer_ID)

For the diff calculation (if min and max are in the same year):

YTD Max Date: