Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How do I get rid of $Syn table

Hello,

I am a newbie to Qlikview and am trying to create my own report for the first time. Unfortunately I am running into some issues with a $Syn table.

My scenario: I have a table with "processed hour" records. Such a record contains an hourcode and a ProdHeaderDossierCode. I also have a HourBudgetTranslate table which translates the hourcode to an hourbudgetcode based on the HourCode, unless a ProdHeaderDossierCode or DossierCode exists in the HourBudgetTranslate table, then it should translate to the related hourbudgetcode. Since the DossierCode is not part of the ProcessedHour table, I also have to link to another table to retrieve the dossiercode based on the ProdHeaderDossierCode. So now I have 3 fields that end up in the $Syn table (DossierCode, HourCode and ProdHeaderDossierCode).

I don't think renaming works since the HourBudgetTranslate table translates based on the actual codes.

Can anyone help me out and point me in the right direction?

Kind regards,

Diego

20 Replies
IAMDV
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Synthetic keys are generally resource heavy and may slow down calculations and, in extreme cases, overload the application. They also make a document harder to understand and maintain.

In your case, can you create a composite key on the columns?

Concatenate both the colums and this removes synthetic key.

Hope this helps!

Cheers - DV

Not applicable
Author

Hi DV,

Not quite sure which columns I should concatenate. I have added a picture below for clarification. If I concatenate the columns I'm creating a unique column right? But I need the original columns to check against the HourBudgetTranslate table.