Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How do I get rid of $Syn table

Hello,

I am a newbie to Qlikview and am trying to create my own report for the first time. Unfortunately I am running into some issues with a $Syn table.

My scenario: I have a table with "processed hour" records. Such a record contains an hourcode and a ProdHeaderDossierCode. I also have a HourBudgetTranslate table which translates the hourcode to an hourbudgetcode based on the HourCode, unless a ProdHeaderDossierCode or DossierCode exists in the HourBudgetTranslate table, then it should translate to the related hourbudgetcode. Since the DossierCode is not part of the ProcessedHour table, I also have to link to another table to retrieve the dossiercode based on the ProdHeaderDossierCode. So now I have 3 fields that end up in the $Syn table (DossierCode, HourCode and ProdHeaderDossierCode).

I don't think renaming works since the HourBudgetTranslate table translates based on the actual codes.

Can anyone help me out and point me in the right direction?

Kind regards,

Diego

20 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi DV,

Since I am not that familiair yet with the QlikView terminology I thought you meant the qvw file when you asked for the QV document. What are the steps to create this QV document?

Kind regards,
Diego

Not applicable
Author

Hi,

The attached script assumes that the HBT.xlsx contains ALL the values of the DossierCode, ProdHeaderDossierCode and HourCode in the data model. Otherwise, you have to load ALL the values from the separate XLSXs and then create one massive link table with all these values using the concatenate function between each XLSX table load.
If all the values of the 3 above fields are synchronised between HBT and the other XLSX files, the script I provide you should be fine. Try and run it and see what happens.
Hope it works.