Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gerhardl
Creator II
Creator II

Auto upload daily .txt file

Hi,

I'm new to QlikView and would like some help with the following.

Our system creates reports every day with the day-end batch run. One of these reports is a Daily Account Extract, which is a '~' delimited text file listing all accounts on our book with about 130 different fields.

I've created a QV file with an overview of all accounts, some nice charts and graphs, etc.

What I want to do is automatically update the file with the new daily extract whenever I open the QV file. At the moment I do the following:

• Edit script - then select table files, browse to the latest extract, rename twho fields that have the same name in the text file, and apply certain settings (like the delimiter type, header size, etc.)
  • Then I type 'replace' in front of the 'load' statement so it replaces the current data with the new data for the day.

What I would like to do is open the file, and somehow have the above done automatically.

The daily extracts are generated and sent to a new folder daily, i.e {L:\Einstein Reports\2011\042011\06042011}, and the next day it will be in {L:\Einstein Reports\2011\042011\07042011}.

Is this possible to do?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

gerardl

You have two problems to solve to automate the process, so lets start by breaking this down to check that I have understood you correctly.

• You have some issues with a duplicate field name. I assume that the text file contains field headers. If you convert the load statement from LOAD * to:

LOAD field1,
field2,
field2 AS field2a,
field130
FROM ....