Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Can Qlikview server deployed on a virtual server?

Hi

Hi I am new to QV. My clients would like to know whether Qlikview server can be deployed on a virtual server ?

Regards

Raj

17 Replies
colinh
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

We have a client with much the same setup - 12 remote servers, of which six are in other countries connected by 128k or 256k satellite links, so reducing bandwidth is very important. We have an instance of QlikView running on each server extracting data into QVDs. For large transactional tables we load the existing transaction numbers from the QVDs each night and create new QVDs containing only the new transactions, so we have a QVD per day (or in some cases per week). We have a standalone licence on each server, but you could use a server CAL per server too.

We have Windows DFS running from 7pm to 7am to synchronise the folder we store the QVDs in on each remote server with a corresponding folder on the central (virtual) server. You can also achieve this with batch files using the DOS xcopy command.

As far as enhancing performance goes, make sure the QVDs are as small as possible, only select fields that you need and try to only transfer new or changed data, rather than transferring entire tables of transactions.

Good luck...

Colin.

Not applicable
Author

Thank you Colin. I think you have helped me understand most of it. I would like to clear a view doubts though...I might sound silly as I am new to QV

1. Are you aware of any methods to pull the full data set ( and not just the changed or new) data from large transactional databases into the remote QV Server?