Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

I thought QlikView was supposed to be easy to learn

Hello Everyone,

Of course I'm a newbie not only to this product but from a technical perspective BI in general. I'm not finding this product to be user friendly at all. Perhaps it's just the newness of it all but I'm wondering did anyone else fell this way at the start?

40 Replies
suniljain
Master
Master

Knowledge is power if and only if updated. for expertise in qlikview you have to keep your self upto date with technology . i.e Qlikview.

There is no limit of learning .

Not applicable
Author

I couldn't find the mentioned tutorial at C:\Program Files\QlikView\Tutorial ... can anyone help me by sending the same to my mail vishnu.s.here@gmail.com ??

mazacini
Creator III
Creator III

Not applicable
Author

Has anyone written a book on Qlikview Yet?

mazacini
Creator III
Creator III

Hi

For what it's worth, here is my experience so far.

When I started out on Qlikview (about 3 months ago),I searched the internet for a book on Qlikview, and concluded that the only material in book form out there was the tutorial and manuals available as downloads from the Qlikview site.

That for me has been the biggest difference between the Qlikview learning experience and that for something like, say, Excel.

With Excel, there are many good books around, any one of which will give you a good understanding of the product. For me, it was a question of learning how each Excel menu item worked, as well as mastering as many of the Excel functions as possible.

If you follow the Qlikview tutorial, you would certainly get the impression that it is easy to learn. But it deals with a fairly simple data structures - it is designed primarily to demo the variety of ways in which data can be analysed and presented.