Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Average sales expression over selection

Good day.

i am hoping that somebody could help me, i am very new to Qlikview and have only just started using it.

we have setup a straight table with sales and budget information/columns. one of the requirements is to have a column with the average sales for the current year when the year is selected. but they would also like to average to change as they change the selections (eg. Month or day selected)

the expression i'm currently using is Sum or current year sales divided by 12. is that the correct expression? but im not sure how this would work when month or day is selected.

any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rido1421
Creator III
Creator III

Hi Brendt

Do you have a month field in your data?

instead of dividing by 12, rather divide by the count of the distinct months so... Count(Distinct Monthfield)

if you have not selected anything you will have 12 distinct months, if you select 3 months the average would be over the 3 months...

View solution in original post

11 Replies
kaushiknsolanki
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi,

You can use the Avg() function.

Regards,

Kaushik Solanki

Please remember to hit the 'Like' button and for helpful answers and resolutions, click on the 'Accept As Solution' button. Cheers!
MK_QSL
MVP
MVP

What are the dimensions you are having in your chart/table where you want to show this ?

Not applicable
Author

Good day Kaushik.

Thank you for your reply.

Avg() doesn't seem to yield the correct results. my sales figures are down to the line level, so Avg() seems to give average per line and not average sales per site. my initial expression seems correct to sum up all sales and divide by 12 to get the average per month, just not sure how to get the correct average if a particular month or day is selected.