Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to load optional fields (DataLoadEditor)

Hi, hope you can help me, I'm new to QlikSense and same goes for programming.

My process is as follow: Either I download at least 6 excel files from some database source or those files are sent to me, so I'm using the data load editor from QlikSense and I load some fields from each excel file, the problem is that each file contains a minimum of 60 headings with up to 800,000 records each (so 800,000 x 60 x 6 = 288,000,000 a very big number), so I analyzed the data and created a Script to just Load the specific fields to be used (instead of loading 60 headings, just load 30 or 28, that multiply per 800,000 multiply per 6 files, is a smaller number and easy to work with)  the problem is that not all fields are in the excel sheet, so every time I click "Load data"  and QlikSense never finds a field, an error occurs and prevents me from continuing , so I have to manually remove the field name from the script or include an empty field with the specified name in the Excel sheet. Example:

[Table 1]

LOAD

[Field 1],

[Field 2],

[Field i] as [Field J],

[Field 100]

FROM [lib://My_Connection_name/File_Name_1.xlsx]

(ooxml, embedded labels);

[Table 2]

LOAD

[Field 1],

[Field 2],

[Field q] as [Field R],

[Field 100]

FROM [lib://My_Connection_name/File_Name_2.xlsx]

(ooxml, embedded labels);

In this example, let's say the "File_Name_1" doesn't have "Field 2", QlikSense at this point will display an error and I will have to manually correct it like I explain before. Is there some way I can tell QlikSense that if the field isn't in the file (i.e. "Field 2" from "File_Name_1") continue until loading the rest of the fields from the remaining files?

Later I tried:

[Table1]