Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
odassier
Creator II
Creator II

Auto Calendar Date shows as Null in Chart dimension

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to Qlik Sense but have been learning fast thanks to this active community.  I wanted to start playing with set analysis and dates in particular.  To start I correctly (I think) formated my data in excel and loaded it in Qlik Sense.  The Date field was automatically recognized and an auto calendar script loaded by the application.

Next I confirmed in the Asset Fields the "Date" field could be expanded to select "Year", "Quarter", "YearQuarter", etc. So the auto calendar worked.

Now here comes the rub.  When I select "YearMonth" as the dimension, then add a measure, the chart does not display any dates.  What am I doing wrong?  I am attaching the simple qvf file here in the hope someone can correct me or let me know what I'm doing wrong.  I tried it on another existing app and now all my timeline charts are blank!

Much obliged,

Olivier

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Patrik_Lundblad
Employee
Employee

Hi Olivier,

If you click on the calendar/clock icon and pick general data type instead of date the auto calendar should be removed.

Regards,

Patrik.

View solution in original post

12 Replies
jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Do your Excel dates have a time component in them? If so, you may have made the common mistake of using Date() to format them as dates, but this does not remove the time component from the underlying value, The calendar does not have the time component in the Date field, so your data and the calendar never match.

If that is indeed the problem, use this to format the date field AND remove the time component:

Date(Floor(<your datetime field>)) as <result date field>;