Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Filtering data through Date format "MM/DD/YY"

Hello Guys,

I am a beginner and recently started working on Qlikview. Well I am having a real hard time as I am stuck and don't know how to proceed further. I am loading data from Excel files.

I have a column name as "Start Date" where the dates are entered in the format "MM/DD/YY" eg. 09/08/2011, 08/09/2009 etc. Now my question is

I have to create a bar chart where I have to represent the data yearly like 2009,2010, 2011 etc. I don't know how to count the records yearly , i.e. , counting the total cases in 2009 then 2010 and further? I have to find a solution which can filter the data based on year in the Start Date column and count the total records based on that for every year.

I will appreciate you replies. Thank you.

Yaman

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

Hi Yaman,

there is two options to achive this:

- in the script

the idea is to create "Year" field based on the "Start Date" field. The script may look like this:

TableName:

Load

id,

StartDate,

year(date#(StartDate,'DD/MM/YYYY')) as Year

From file.xls

date# function helps QV "understand" in what format is the given date (in your case DD/MM/YYYY). Next "year" function return only the year. In this scenarion you will have field "Year" for each row and in your chart put Year as dimension and count(id) as expression.

-in the chart dimension

the same functions are used ( year(date#(StartDate,'DD/MM/YYYY')) ) but instead in the script plase it in dimension as "Calculated dimension" (the expression is the same). And the result is the same.

Personally i'll add the logic in the script because in this case is possible Year to be added as separate selection or if something is changed in excel file the change will be only in one place not on every chart that have year as dimension

Hope that helps!

Stefan

View solution in original post