Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

NEW to QV and Evaluating - Question on Selecting fields

All,

I accidently posed the same question in QV corner and not able to delete.

Now posting in the right place.

I am very new to QlikView . We are in the process of evaluating QV.  I have downloaded the personal edition and was playing with it, showing demos to our executives and so forth.

One key thing came up in our discussion was doing an "OR" selection between two fileds.

EX.  If I want to see orders were “created on 1/1/2011”  OR “Product_Code = 10002”

By default (according to my very little understanding with QV) if I select two fields they are being joined using “AND”  and the above selection will retrieve all the order for 10002 on 1/1/2011.

Another example.

If I want to see orders that were generated for“Product_Code = 10002” on 1/1/2011  also for “Product_Code = 80009” on 4/1/2010

(Product_Code = 10002  AND ORD_DT = 1/1/2011")   OR   (Product_Code = 80009   AND ORD_DT = 4/1/2010)

is this possible?

Thanks,

AP

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

In reading this thread I image you will most likely wind up linking a "campaignId" to both the Product and Date fields.  Then the selection or dimension is campaignId.

It's worth pointing out that adhoc search expressions -- which can be entered by users or saved in bookmarks -- can use OR logic. For example, if you had an OrderId listbox or dropdown the user could type

=(Product_Code = 10002  AND ORD_DT = 1/1/2011")   OR   (Product_Code = 80009   AND ORD_DT = 4/1/2010)

and that would filter the set to match the criteria.

-Rob

View solution in original post

9 Replies
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

I assume you want a user to be able to select such values on the fly, and not hardcode specific values in the application?

I'd say possible but not simple, and a bit clunky to use.