Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to display a map of the Netherlands on a dashboard?

Hi there,

I'm trying to create a map of the Netherlands on neighbourhood level. Something that looks similar to the image below: example.PNG

I tried to download KML files from several websites but the coördinates never seemed to line up properly on the map. For instance a place that's a few kilometers from my house ended up in the Indian Ocean.

What I tried:

1. Downloaded a KML file

2. Created a new app in Qlik Sense

3. Prepared and loaded the KML file

4. Added a map element on the dashboard

5. Added the dimension: latitude, longitude

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If I didn't explain the steps I took in enough detail please let me know. I'm rather new to Qlik Sense.

With kind regards,

Sven

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ahaahaaha
Partner - Master
Partner - Master

Hi Sven,

In attached files three KML files of different levels of detail and two implementation examples for the first and second levels. I hope this will help you.

Regards,

Andrey

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

One of the things you will run into is that a standard Qlik Sense map cannot show more than 3333 polygons. Since there are more than 12.000 neighbourhoods you won't get a map that shows them all. I think you'll need a mapping extension like GeoQlik or Qlik GeoAnalytics

Also a lattitude, longitude dimension doesn't sound right for a KML file. I'd expect a geometry field instead of one lat./long. coordinate.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

I've added a KML file with 389 unique areas including what I think are geometry fields: Gemeenten 2017 onbeveiligd.xlsx - Google Drive