Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Open Work Orders Between Two Date Fields

So I am trying to create a visualization to show the count of open work orders on any given day. I have a table called OPS_WR with the date fields DATE_REQUESTED and DATE_COMPLETED, requested being the date a work order was started and completed being the finished date.

I want to be able to determine, based upon whatever date my filters are on, what the count of open work orders was on a specific day.

I saw the creating reference dates for intervals post, but my supervisor wants to try and avoid using that as it generates all possible dates for every record. I was hoping for an expression I can use in a visualization, possibly utilizing variables using DATE_REQUESTED and DATE_COMPLETED.

Any help would be much appreciated! Additionally, I have a Master Calendar for each date, and a Canonical Date calendar configured for Fiscal Year (ours starts in July).

EDIT: We initially want to create two visualizations, one using year as a dimension and one using month, would it be best to average open work orders? Because there can be an order open on June 1 and closed June 3, and another opened May 31 and closed June 3, so what would be the best way to represent that? Can it be done cleanly?

EDIT2: Additionally, if it is easier, we could just do it where we only want to know the number of open work orders on the first of the month only, so how could I show that?

Message was edited by: Casey McDonald

10 Replies
Josh_Good
Employee
Employee

Hi Casey,

To do this you should use the IntervalMatch function.  This function (when used right) will build out a data model that maps when all your POs were active.  Below is a simple script example that I use to remind me how to use this function.  Note, I'm using inline loads so the script will run independently, you will need to adjust the script to fit your specific data.