Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to sum and divide variables in set analysis bar chart?

Hello,

i am new in qlik sense. I need to do a bar chart with suppliers as dimension and as measure i need the sum of the cancelled and closed items divided the received items.

In loaded data i have an excel table with all the items with thei status (received, closed or cancelled) and the dates when they hae been received, closed or cancelled.

In order to know the number of the closed, cancelled and received items in the analysis period I set three variables:

eg.

=Count({<[Data Cancellazione]= {">=$(=vStartOfPreviousMonth)<=$(=vEndOfPreviousMonth)"}>}[Numero CR])

Now i am trying to create a new measure that is the sume of two variables (cancelled and closed items)/received items

((N_Cancellate)+(N_Chiuse))/(N_Ricevute)

When I insert this measure in the bar chart the value is the same for all the suppliers.

How can I get the right value for each supplier?

Thanks

Ila

5 Replies
thomaslg_wq
Creator III
Creator III

Hi Ila,

I have maybe an idea : do you know that there is a big difference in defining a variable with or without a first "=" sign ?

When, in your variable you write for your "eMyVariable" variable: "=sum(Sales)", the result will be always the same in the chart but if you write "sum(Sales)", the value will be well aggregated by the dimension in the chart.

The reason is the variable is simply a set of characters, and when you're calling a variable, these characters will replace it.

When in a chart you call $(eMyVariable), in the first example, the characters will be the result of the non-aggregated calculation (so if the total sum is 10000, the called characters are "10000" and every dimensiion value will show a 10000 value bar

Without the "=" sign as in the second example, the characters will be "sum(Sales)", so the calculation will be made in the chart, and then well-aggregated.