cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Finding selected time range from within an Extension

Hi,

I'm very new to Qlik Sense and am currently using the Desktop variant, version 3.2 SR4.

I have 2 line charts displayed on a single sheet, both of which use 'Time' as a dimension. When the user uses the Lassoo to select a time range, both charts display information only from that time range.

Within an extension, I would ideally like to be notified when the 'Time' range has been changed by the user but I don't think that this is possible. Assuming this is the case, from an extension I'd like to be able to do 2 things, both of which were simple using Qlik View.

1. Identify all of the charts on the sheet with the dimension of 'Time' and create a list of measures across all of the graphs.
  2. Identify the 'Time' range that is currently selected by the user.

I've started by creating a Basic Visualisation Template and am looking to extend this. I've managed to do some simple things and have called the backend API successfully but I'm struggling with the points above.

Any pointers or guidance would be gratefully received,

Many thanks,

Neil Fraser

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ErikWetterberg

Hi Neil,

Looks like a very common problem: changes to initialProperties (like adding a hypercube) does not affect existing objects. Remove your object from the sheet, add a new one and try again.

Hope this helps

Erik Wetterberg

View solution in original post

5 Replies
ErikWetterberg

Hi Neil,

If you use a HyperCube or a ListObject with 'Time' as a dimension you will be notified (that is your print method will be called) when selection state for the Time dimension changes.

Hope this helps

Erik Wetterberg

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Erik,