Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Section Access

Hi,

Please bear with me as I'm new to Section Access - I've been reading through as much as I can but I thought it'd be quicker to ask.

I've created a table that I want to use to limit the data that users can see in the report (see below).

SELECT ACCESS, USERID, PASSWORD, NTNAME, SERIAL, ACCESS_DEPARTMENT, ACCESS_DEPTCODE

FROM USERS_ACCESS

WHERE ORG = 'TEST REPORT'

Within this table I have got data like so (using the fields above):

ADMIN, *, *, JOE BLOGGS, *, *, *, TEST REPORT

USER, *, *, JOHN SMITH, *, *, *, TEST REPORT

USER, *, *, JOHN DOE, *, SALES, 10, TEST REPORT

USER, *, *, LISA JONES, *, ACCOUNTS, 11, TEST REPORT

Within the qlik report in Document Properties I have checked 'Initial Data Reduction Based On Section Access' and 'Strict Exclusion' and 'Prohibit Binary Load'.

In the Section Access section in Edit Script I need to link 'ACCESS_DEPARTMENT' from the table above to a field called Company_Department that is currently displayed in the report.

For example I would want JOE BLOGGS and JOHN SMITH to be able to access the report and view all departments as they have an asterisk in the ACCESS_DEPARTMENT and ACCESS_DEPTCODE fields. However I would then want JOHN DOE to only be able to access the SALES department and for LISA JONES to only be able to access the ACCOUNTS department.

Does that make sense?

I think my issue is with the Load bit of Section Access. Does this look right? Also I don't want anyone to be prompted for a UserId or Password.

Section Access;

Load ACCESS,USERID,NTNAME,SERIAL,UPPER(ACCESS_DEPARTMENT) as Company_Department,ACCESS_DEPTCODE;

SQL

SELECT ACCESS, USERID, NTNAME, SERIAL, ACCESS_DEPARTMENT, ACCESS_DEPTCODE

FROM USERS_ACCESS

Section Application;

Thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions