Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
vqcruzcabeza
Contributor II
Contributor II

I question related to the Connect and SQL SELECT statement

Hi everyone

I am new to Qlik Sense app.  Learning by my own.  Using a book reference and trying to do the exercises.  At this point I have been trying to do a simple Select command and I am stuck.  I load a Excel table.  This is the script:

[HumanResources_Employee]:

LOAD [EmployeeID],

[NationalIDNumber],

[ContactID],

[LoginID],

[ManagerID],

[Title],

[BirthDate],

[MaritalStatus],

IF(Gender='M','Male','Female') AS [Gender],

[HireDate],

[SalariedFlag],

[VacationHours],

[SickLeaveHours],

[CurrentFlag],

[rowguid],

[ModifiedDate]

FROM [lib://Veronica_Tables (oatpro_vcc8908)/HumanResources_Employee2.xlsx]

(ooxml, embedded labels, table is HumanResources_Employee);

I have to code in the Data Load Editor the following:

SQL SELECT *

FROM 'HumanResources_Employee2.xlsx'

WHERE EmployeeID  < 10

But once I code the SQL Statement I start getting a CONNECT error.   I've trying with every CONNECT statement and youtube and blog reference but something so simple I can't find a solution.

Can anybody help me?

Regards,

Veronica

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Lech_Miszkiewicz
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi Veronica,

Qlik can execute SQL Select statement when you point it to database. Once data is loaded you can re-use loaded table using "Resident" statement.

Other statements which Load data are :

Load - Inline

Load - Autogenerate

Load - From (this is the one you used to load your excel)

If your task was simply to load a table from excel where employeeId <10 than you could put Where clause on "FROM" statements like this:

LOAD [EmployeeID],

[NationalIDNumber],

[ContactID],

[LoginID],

[ManagerID],

[Title],

[BirthDate],