Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Calculating average

I have a set of tree inventory data that includes information on the condition of each tree and looks something like this:

TreeID Species Condition

Tree1 Oak Good

Tree2 Oak Poor

Tree3 Oak Good

Tree4 Maple Good

Tree5 Maple Poor

I have an associated table that correlates the condition word to a condition score (number), like this:

Dead 0

Critical 2

Poor 4

Fair 6

Good 8

Very good 9

Excellent 10

I want to calculate the average condition score across all the trees in the inventory, but instead I keep getting an average of the seven condition scores. So for my 125,000 trees, I get an average condition score of 5.57, which is actually the average of (0+2+4+6+8+9+10)/7.

As a further example, if I did Sum(Condition score) for the above example, I would get 12 (4 [score for poor] + 8 [score for good]) and I want to get 28 (8+4+8+8+4).

As I'm very new to this, I'm grateful for any help! Thanks so much.

~Kelaine

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

I think I figured it out.  It does seem, when doing avg([Condition score]), it is always averaging within the table the field is found - Conditions.  To average the condition score of your Trees inventory, you'd have to do one of two things:

1. Load the data such that the condition score is part of the Trees table.  Then use avg([Condition score]) and it should work.  Yes, you'd be denormalizing and wouldn't need to load the Conditions table as a dimension table.

OR

2. Keep the setup you have now and change your expression to this:

avg(aggr(sum([Condition score]), [TreeID]))

By using the aggr() function, you'd first force QlikSense to sum the condition scores across the Trees data.  In order for it to work correctly, the 2nd argument for aggr() has to be a field in Trees that is unique to each row.  It seems TreeID will serve that purpose.