Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Major Problem with Qlikview QVDistributionService.exe

I am new to Qlikview and don't know much about memory leaks, but that is what I appear to have going on.

Our Management Console has been running the same jobs for over a year now with no problems.  In the last few days, it takes jobs that run in one hour over three hours to run.  Every jobs run-time is magnified (increased) by at least three to four times.

The only thing I really knew to do was look at the Windows Task Manager to see what all was running in Processes.  I appears as though the QVDistributionService.exe just continues to increase the memory even when NOTHING is running.  I think this runs until it maxes out and then my Qlikview jobs won't run anymore.

Does anyone know why console jobs would take 4X longer to run than before?

Thanks,

Joel

PS:  I am very green at this.

20 Replies
Not applicable
Author

I did check these things, Marcus.  I went ahead and loaded one of the huge files that one of these slow running jobs puts out and verified that there are no cartesian results and every row is unique.  At first I thought this was a result of something on the back end database we run these qlikview jobs against having tables or fields change, along with some joins, but that is not the case.

Thanks,

Joel

Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Apparently, the slowdown is happening entirely during the execution of the Load script. You may be right in assuming that QlikView isn't directly responsible for this slowdown, especially because all your documents run slower and "nothing changed" in code or configuration.

A reload is usually not very cpu-dependent, but reloads are negatively affected by RAM shortages. So I think you should let your admin guy check these two situations: