Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gustavgager
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

Create HTTPS cert with internal CA

Hi there.

We have a PFsense Firewall wich does have a build in CA. So my plan is to use this CA to create a certificate that i can deploy using GPO and then use it to run HTTPS on several internal websites, inlcuding QS. However i cant seem to get it working.

First of, im pretty new to how certificates work but im trying to learn.

I have created a Root-CA and a Suborinate-CA on the firewall. I then exported the root-CA certificate and installed on my local desktop machine. I then created a server-certificate using the subordinate CA. From pfsense i can then export the crt file and i can export an .key file.

I the used openSSL.exe to merge theese two into one file and imported in on the qliksense server. I took the thumbprint and added it to the QS Proxy (as i have done on several customers befor without any problem).

But when i load the page and check what certificate it uses. It looks like its still uses the serlf-signed cert (The CA seems to be the sense-server). So what am I doing wrong? Do i need to convert my certificates to a specific format or something?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
simon_minifie
Partner - Creator III
Partner - Creator III

Have a look at this post:

Sense unable to locate a ssl certificate

Same error as you're seeing.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
simon_minifie
Partner - Creator III
Partner - Creator III

Hi Gustav,

Have a look at the Proxy security logs. (C:\ProgramData\Qlik\Sense\Log\Proxy)

They usually give an explanation of why a specific certificate can't be used, and why it has reverted to its self-signed one.

Best regards,

Simon

gustavgager
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II
Author

Ahh good one! Found this in the log: