17 Replies Latest reply: Nov 15, 2017 10:38 PM by Sarah Kohler RSS

Qliksense Business Cloud first impressions....

cristian ivanoff

Hi All!

I have been working with QlikSense Business Cloud for a couple of days and get annoyed by some lack of features.These are impressions from a total newbie to qliksense (and cloud).

Excuse my bad English so bear with me. I have a simple case here. My customers request: Ingest daily data from Nasdaq and display some KPI's in different ways and it have to be in the cloud. Easy right? My first reaction was "Oh Great I can use QlikSense Business Cloud where I have data through Qlik data market".

Well, it wasn't so easy. Maybe I'm just ignorant or something and if you notice that I do something wrong please let me know.

First of all, qlik data market is "available" when you look through the account. Well you might think its available. But, the activation icon is greyed out. Why? there's no way at all to activate this. So I talked to the Qlik support who lets me know that "its not available through the cloud service - only Essentials data is available". So why show it?

Ok, no problems, lets use another source and use the REST-connector available. Did this, and it works fine. But, there is no possibility to add variables to the connection so my REST-calls have to be static. Great, now my customer needs to modify the call each day or....I "modify" the connection (with variables) in the script when doing the call to the source. Ok, so I made a dummy connection, because you have to open a connection first to modify it, and the script modifies the connection- this is how I think it works. Any way it works fine. I had to do some other stuff to refresh the security token etc but now I have the data. Tons av data!