Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jcampbell474
Creator III
Creator III

Qlikview 11 to 12 Upgrade Questions

I’m a Qlikview developer, but have never installed or upgraded it.  My manager has and we’re getting ready to install QV12 over QV11 on Dev, Prod, and Web servers.  We have a few questions and I’m hoping someone here can help.

1. Is there a tool in QlikView or separate that quickly audits security access for all QVWs on a server and easily exports AD groups/users for each report?
  2. The Dev and Prod servers both run Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard.  We will leave the OS alone and just upgrade QV.  Should all of the settings, etc., be retained?
  3. The Web server is running Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise Service Pack 1.  We’re going to upgrade it to Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard.  This should cause the QV settings to be lost?  Is there a way to export then apply the needed settings?
  4. Are QMC settings stored on the Prod or Web server?
  5. Are there any apps out there that we should consider using to help us with the upgrades?

Thank you in advance.

-Jason

6 Replies
YoussefBelloum
Champion
Champion

Hi,

before doing anything, f you didn't already read it, you should :

Upgrade and Migration ‒ QlikView

Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Some quick answers:

1. No, not that I am aware of
  2. Yes. If you're not sure, make a backup of the ProgramData\QlikTech folder before upgrading.
  3. That could be the case, yes. Make a copy of the ProgramData\QlikTech folder and restore it after the Windows upgrade.
  4. Usually only on each server where there is a QMS service running. I guess in your case that means PRD and DEV.
  5. If you mean Qlik apps, then not that I am aware of. Just the documentation here: Upgrading QlikView ‒ QlikView