Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Beginner trying to make sense of this code

Hello Qlik Community,

I'm not sure if i posted this in the right place, I'd appreciate if a moderator could move it if possible.

Im a 4th year medical student from Sweden currently working on my master thesis. As part of this I have to make a large extraction of patient data from an ICU database and I'm having big issues with this. I should note that before 1 month ago i had never once seen any QlikView code, so bear with me if you will.

The first set of code is used to extract basic patient data from our database. The second set of code is used to extract certain lab data from said patients, from the same database.

Our issue is this. In the first code, we are only interested in, and only want to extract information on patients with VDranIn and VDranUt. (I.e, there are patients in the database who don't have VDranIn and VDranUt, we don't want those) However, we get duplicates of lab results on patients who have more than one VDranIn and VDranUt.

Simplified it basically looks like this.

PatientID          VDranIn          LabResult          SampleTime

1                2016-06-06               1              2016-06-06 10:45

1                2016-06-06               2              2016-06-08 12:00

1                2016-06-06               3              2016-06-12 13:00

1                2016-06-10               1              2016-06-06 10:45

1                2016-06-10               2              2016-06-08 12:00

1                2016-06-10               3              2016-06-12 13:00

As you can see, we get repeated sequences of lab results for each VDranIn, even though it's the same Patient.

I've tried using:

min(pcs.StartTime) as VDranIn,

max(pcs.EndTime) as VDranUt,