Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Setting the background color of a specific cell in table

Hi All,

I am new in Qlikview. I ran into the following.

I developed a Qlikview document that opens a list of computers from a database.

I want to ping the computernames and mark them as Present (green background) or Absent (red background), depending the result of the ping.

The routine for pinging works OK.

But I can't find a way to mark the cell red or green. I tried the doc's and API guide, but I can't find what I'm looking for.

I pull in the data to a table. I can get the text from the field for the computer name.

How do I set the background color for a cell from within a macro??

12 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

You run the ping in your load script? Do you use the result to set values in a tables field?

If so, you might have a table like

ComputerName, Alive

Server1, 1

Server2, 1

Server3, 0

For example, In a straight table you could use the visual cues to set the background colors depending on Alive Flag ( a table box misses that feature, I think).

Create a straight chart, set ComputerName as dimension and Alive as expression.

In Visual cues tab, set the upper and lower limits to 1 resp 0 and set the colors for text and background as you like.

Hope this helps,

Stefan

Not applicable
Author

Hi Stefan,

THX.

I run the ping by pressing a button, but running it at load time might also work.

I have to experiment with the straighttable, I'm quite new in Qlikview. The idea is good.

swuehl
MVP
MVP

If you want and if needed you could post your example app here in the forum (upload available in advanced editor), so it is easier to help you if you have more questions.

jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Hi