Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

using an expression(based on a dimension) as dimension for another expression

Hello Qlik Community!

I am new to Qlik and need help for a simple problem ...

I have a table of transactions, with the fields client and object. So during a transaction a client buys a single object.

What I am trying to do is to create a bar chart showing how many people bought a number (in an interval) of distinct objects.

On the x axis I want to have the intervals, and on the y axis the amount of people for each amount of bought objects.

problem.png

The closest I got to solving this was by finding the class function. The only problem is that i have to pass a dimension to this function, whereas my dimension is actually an expression based on another dimension.

To calculate how many distinct objects a person bought I need clients as a dimension. And to calculate how many clients bought 10 distinct objects I need the previous expression as a dimension.

I think that the idea of trying to see the distribution is pretty basic, but I couldn't find a way to do it ....

Thanks in advance!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

I would expect something like this to work:

dimension  = aggr(class(count(distinct Object),10,'Objects'),Person)
expression = count(distinct Person)

If it doesn't, I'll figure it out by working up an example.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

I would expect something like this to work:

dimension  = aggr(class(count(distinct Object),10,'Objects'),Person)
expression = count(distinct Person)

If it doesn't, I'll figure it out by working up an example.

Not applicable
Author

Thanks a lot! It is working perfectly!

Not applicable
Author

In same scenario I am now trying to make the chart show me the bell curve for the sales.