cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
marychen
Contributor III
Contributor III

Qlik Sense Desktop and Qlik Sense Hub

I am new to Qlik Sense with a few years experience with QlikView only. My question may look simple to some Qlik Sense gurus and hoping to get the answer from this group before I start diving into the tutorial.

Q1: What is the difference between Desktop and Hub?

Q2: I have QVDs developed for QlikView, can I simply copy these QVDs to Qlik Sense?

Q3: I saw some articles of converting QVW to Qlik Sense. Where should I start in order to convert some of my QVW files into Qlik Sense?

Thank you in advance for answering my questions.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rittermd
Master
Master

1.  Desktop is the personal version of Qlik Sense.  It looks and feels just like the Enterprise Hub.  But you do not have a QMC with desktop and the setup is a little different. 

2.  There is a conversion utility to convert from QV to QS.  I am not sure if this is included with desktop though.

3.  I am not sure about your QVD question.  I have not had to try this.  My guess would be that the QVD may not convert directly.  But an easy way to test would be to use Qlik Sense and create a data connection to the folder where the QVD is and then try to pull it in and see what happens.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
rittermd
Master
Master

1.  Desktop is the personal version of Qlik Sense.  It looks and feels just like the Enterprise Hub.  But you do not have a QMC with desktop and the setup is a little different. 

2.  There is a conversion utility to convert from QV to QS.  I am not sure if this is included with desktop though.

3.  I am not sure about your QVD question.  I have not had to try this.  My guess would be that the QVD may not convert directly.  But an easy way to test would be to use Qlik Sense and create a data connection to the folder where the QVD is and then try to pull it in and see what happens.

marychen