Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Subtotals within Calculated Dimensions

I'm new to qlik and was working with a calculated dimension.  I've got a portion of it pasted below.  I'm basically using the dimension to create subcategories to group certain account numbers into certain categories.  Is there a way to add subtotals of the categories?  For example I'm trying to add a line showing Category1 and Category2 added together before displaying category3.  I'm not sure that the calculated dimension is the best approach to what I'm trying to do so any help or suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks.

=if(
Left([OA NL Transaction Expense Code],1) = 4,
dual('Category1' ,1),

if(match([OA NL Transaction Expense Code],'50000','50005','50050','50055','50060','50065','50070','50075','50080','50085','50090','50300','58100'),
dual('Category2',2),

if(match([OA NL Transaction Expense Code],'50010','50015','50020','50025','51925'),
dual('Category3',3)

8 Replies
sunny_talwar

There might be no direct way, but you can add an island table and play around with that to get this to work....Would you be able to share some data to help you better here?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

I've attached a screenshot of what I've got working so far.  All of my data comes from an ERP system.  I've got a calculated dimension that is looking at account codes and putting them into categories.  I've also got the account code and description as dimensions.  My expression just pulls the values.  I'm looking for a subtotal between categories.  My end goal is to build a P&L from qlik.

Excel.png

qlikviewwizard
Master II
Master II

Hi,

Can you attach some sample data to demonstrate your requirement?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author