Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to find top 5 and bottom 5 records in chart

i am new to QV,

i have requirement to show top 5 & Bottom 5 spendValue regionwise. I knw to represent top 5 or Bottom 5 values in chart. But i have requiremnt to represent top&bottom5 records @ a time. is there any way to represent.......please help me

Regards

Bala prasad

5 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Hi Bala prasad,

maybe like attached?

I used a condition in the expression to filter the top 5 and bottom 5 values using rank function, setting every other expression value for a dimension value to zero (or to an extrema your data won't reach).

I then needed to sort the values descending (because supress zero values won't work with rank, I believe) and set the max visible data points to 10 in presentation tab.

I think, depending on your requirements, this could work.

Regards,

Stefan

its_anandrjs

Hi,

See the attached sample may be some thing like this

HTH

Rgds

Anand

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Stefan,

As a qlikview newbie i'm trying to understand the expression you wrote. I understand the first part .  As for the second part your wrote: rank(-sum(Value),4)<=5

why did you write "or rank(-sum(Value),4)<=5, sum(Value),0)"

if(rank(-sum(Value),4)<=5 or rank(-sum(Value),4)<=5) << this is a wrong formula. I'm just experimenting. Why can't this be a working formule?

How do you manage ")" (brackets) in qlikview? I always find it difficult to know when to "close" a expression with a ")" bracket.

How you can help me. Cheers!

iSam

swuehl
MVP
MVP

Hi aboumejjane,

most brackets are required by syntax, e.g. each function like if(), rank(), sum() needs input parameter, those will be given inside the opening and closing brackets. Please refer to the Help for the syntax of QV functions.