Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Can't get rid of synthetic joins and table

Please forgive my ignorance - I'm still very new to QlikView, and really struggling to get to grips with it.  For reasons best known to themselves, our management have given us until end of this year to get a suite of dashboards ready even though we've not yet had Developer I & II training...  We've had a couple of very helpful consultancy days from the QlikView trainer who delivered Designer I & II, but I'm still not quite up to speed.

The background:

With the help of the trainer, we have a "QVD generator" document that loads data from a number of different DB views.  We then have a 'master' or 'template' QVW file which loads data from all the QVD files, and which our end users will use to create their own dashboards.

The problem:

I'm trying to add more QVDs into the 'master' dashboard, but having trouble linking the data - I'm either getting loops or sythentic joins.  Specifically I have a QVD file called "pl_slam.qvd" and one called "calendar.qvd" which I'm loading as tables called pl_slam and calendar respectively which are populated in their own tabs within my QVW.  I also have a "link" tab in my QVW where I'll do any linking as required.

pl_slam has a column called "month_no"

calendar has a column called "fy_month_number"

These columns contain the same data, so I want to join these.

These are the things I've tried so far without success:

1.  Rename month_no as fy_month_number in pl_slam (because that's what it's called in calendar), then doing a concatenate load fy_month_number from resident pl_slam;

2.  Add a new hidden field called %fy_month_number in pl_slam, then do a concatenate load on %fy_month_number in my link tab, then dropping month_no from pl_slam;