Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Load data depending on date

Hi All,
I'm new to Qlikview, I've had my training but I have a few more questions. I apologise in advance if this is not the place to be asking questions.
I do not want to load all data, I only want to load data between two different date values.
// Import STUDY table
STUDY:
LOAD STUDYID,
VISITID,
RISID,
EXAMTYPEID,
EXAMID,
as STUDYCOUNTER,
STUDYDATE,
STATUS,
STUDYUID,
BODYSITEMODIFIER,
PRIORITY,
INTERFACEID;
SQL SELECT *
FROM SolitonServer.dbo.STUDY;
I'd like to change this statement to be something like 'FROM Soliton Server.dbo.STUDY where STUDYDATE > '12/10/2010 00:00:00' and STUDYDATE < '21/01/2011 00:00:00';
I get an error when I try to use this statment. The error is below:
The conversion of a char data type to a datetime data type resulted in an out-of-range datetime value.
Any help on how to fix this error would be muchly appreciated.
Regards,
Dan
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

One load statement can't refer to field names in completely different table.  So after loading the dates, I believe you need to do this:

LET vStartDate = peek('startdate');
LET vEndDate   = peek('enddate');

FROM SolitonServer.dbo.STUDY
WHERE STUDYDATE > '$(vStartDate)'
  AND STUDYDATE < '$(vEndDate)';

It is possible you will need to fiddle with the variables to get the correct format to match the studydate, but I'm thinking you won't have to as long as your XML source has them looking correct.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Sokkorn
Master
Master

Hi Dan,

Can you check data type for the field STUDYDATE. Does it is DateTime or Char? What is the formate for this field?

or you can try where STUDYDATE > '12-10-2010' and STUDYDATE < '21-01-2011'

Regards,

Sokkorn Cheav

Not applicable
Author

Hi Sokkorn Cheav,