Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Can't open own files anymore after having done a recovery.

I suppose it goes without saying I'm new to the program, hence this section of the forum, so here's my problem:

I'm using the personal edition of QlikView to run some tests and see how everything is working. The problem I am facing right now is that I have created some .qvw files on another PC in the past few months, but have recently moved workspace and PC. While on my new PC I once did a recovery to see those old files I created and try to re-create them. Ever since though, I have been unable to open .qvw documents which were created on this PC.

Whenever I open a file created on this machine I get the option to do a recovery and continue. Obviously this can't be correct as I've only got 2 remaining attempts left now and I have to re-start work on documents every time. Is there a way I can correct this?

I am using version 9.00 SR2.

8 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Sorry to reply to my own post, but as said this is quite a nuisance and I can't use the program as desired right now. Am I perhaps posting in the wrong section, or this something heavily explained someplace (I did find several FAQ sections regarding recoveries, but none mentioned possible problems such as this).

Hopefully someone can help me still! Much obliged 🙂

Not applicable
Author

Hi Michiel01,

As per my knowledge Qlikview PE capturing machie ID and thats why you are facing this issue .

Ontop of that ,if you system is in network , then it may ask for "recovery " checks eventhough you only worked using single system everytime.

As long as your are single machine user (that too Standalone ) you wont get " Document Recovery" checks , other than that its very uncertain & unpredictable .

In your case option is to go for License Verson ASAP Smile

Always Welcome,

Bhushan N

Not applicable
Author