Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How does the fieldvalue function work

Hello,

I'm a newbie to Qlikview and was looking for some help using the fieldvalue function.

I am trying to insert text from a specific loaded table cell into a text box on my qlikview document. I have seen examples where the fieldvalue function has been used to accomplish this, however I am not quite sure how to use it. I have created a variable that looks at the required table "=chr(39) & Language & chr(39)" where "Language" is the alias given to the column containing the text. But I don't quite understand how to pull through the desired references/text and I don't understand the element no variable in the fieldvalue function.

I would appreciate any help

Many Thanks

Qlikview newbie

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

// The structure of your language file should contain a column per language, where the column header contains the language ID or language name:

LOAD * INLINE [

English, German

Hello, Hallo

This is a test, Dies ist ein Test

];

// Then it is a advisable to create a separate table where the user can choose the language from, each value of field Language must match one the field names of your prev table:

Languages:

LOAD * INLINE [

Language

English

German

];

// Thats all it needs in the script.

In the front end, create a variable vLanguage in the variable overview:

=chr(39)&Language&chr(39)

Then create a list box form field Language, select one Language and enter properties - general tab an select option 'Always one value selected'

That's mostly it. For any text you need to translate, use an expression. For this example, create two text boxes:

=FieldValue($(vLanguage),1)

=FieldValue($(vLanguage),2)