Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Need Help on Section Access

Hi All,

I am new to Qlikview and little bit struggling in setting up section access so decided to ask you experts.

I need to limit records according to who logged in. for example we have different suppliers in our system and when particular supplier logged in he should be able to see only his data. If Admin logged in he should be able to see data from all suppliers.

I have added this code to my load script:

Section Access;
LOAD * INLINE [
ACCESS, USERID, PASSWORD, SUPPLIER
ADMIN, ADMIN, P,
USER, SUPPLIER1, PASSWORD1, XXXXX
];

Section Application;

I have created individual account for each supplier via Qlikview management Console -> System -> Setup -> Custom Directory -> Users

I am not sure whether these account is linked to account I have created in section access?

Please be informed that each supplier will access their data using their credentials on Internet explorer ( not qvd file ).

Any help on this will be much appriciated.

Cheers.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hi,

That code is all right, and that will cause that the users will be prompted for credentials when clicking on the file. But My guess is that you want to link their accounts in your domain to the section access, which is fine as well, but you need to use the field NTNAME instead of USERID/PASSWORD, and provide the list of users always using DOMAIN\USERNAME. Check among many others this thread on how to use this in Section Access and some working code.

Make sure that after making a backup of your QVW file, you check Settings menu, Document Properties, Opening tab, "Initial Reduction Based on Section Access" and "Strict Exclusion" should you want to deny access when a Supplier does not have any data related in the data model.

Hope that helps

Miguel

View solution in original post

3 Replies