Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Expressions with different accumulation periods

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to Qlikview development but I will try to describe my problem as clearly as possible. Basically what I want to do is to create an expression which uses different accumulation periods. I guess I will have to use Set Analysis of some sort.

I have a bunch of transactions with different amounts occurring at different dates. Each transaction is linked to a year, month, and period of that month.

A simplified version of the data can be seen below:

table.png

The real data is of course more complicated with more units, groups etc. but I believe that the above table is sufficient to understand my problem.

What I want to do now is to create a table as the one below (but with a different expression):

table2.png

Right now the expression shows Sum(Amount). However what I would like the table to show is the sum(Amount) of group A for all previous periods in the given month divided by the sum(Amount) of group B for the previous month. For example:

Example 1: Column for Year 2011, Month 1, Period 3: Should sum the amount for period 1, 2 and 3 in month 1 for group A. Then divide this with the sum of the amounts for group B in month 12 of 2010 (all periods).

Example 2: Column for Year 2011, Month 2, Period 1: Should sum the amount for period 1 month 2 for group A. Then divide this with the sum of the amounts for group B in month 1 (all periods).

I hope this explanation makes sense. I will attach a qvw file with the data loaded.

I will appreciate any help.

Best Regards

2 Replies
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi,