Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gerhardl
Creator II
Creator II

OnOpen Triggers

Hi there,

I have a two-fold question regarding document triggers. Some background:

I have a qvw that I upload to an FTP site daily, from where our clients collect and deploy it on their server. I am now busy automating this process. As part of this automation I have OnOpen Triggers, which sets of a series of events, including reload, macros to create excel reports, saving the document and uploading to the FTP site.

1. Is there any way to do a "conditional trigger"? These triggers work great, but now, whenever I want to open this document to edit it or work from it, it obviously triggers all these actions, even though everything already happened at 7AM the morning. At 7AM the file is opened via Task Scheduler - I want the triggers to work then, but not when I manually open the file? Maybe look at last reload date somehow?

2. I have no QlikView Server experience - only our clients use it, and they haven't yet used my new "automated" file. Am I correct that these OnOpen triggers will not have any impact their side? When they open the file I don't want anything to happen.

Sorry for the long post.

Gerhard

5 Replies
gerhardl
Creator II
Creator II
Author

Okay I figured out Question number 1 myself, but would still like confirmation on question 2 please.

Thanks,

G

Not applicable

Hi,

Regarding your second concern, since the triggers are applied on the document level, it is highly likely that your triggers will be executed as defined upon document open.

Since you are using the document on QlikView desktop, and do not want the triggers to be executed on users accessing the document via server, you can use something like =if(ClientPlatform()='Browser.Firefox' as the logic to run triggers.

I am assuming it might help.

Regards,

-Khaled.

gerhardl
Creator II
Creator II
Author

Hi Khaled,