Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
datanibbler
Champion
Champion

Scripting challenge - process a masterdata table

Hi,

I want to build a barchart showing the nr. of male and female employees we had in a certain month and the respective ratio.

So far, that's no problem - I can do it on GUI-level using set analysis - but then I have to do it on scripting level so as to be able to make it into a chart.

I have a masterdata table with one record per employee and of course there's a binary field (1/0) for gender that I can count.

The challenge is this:

=> For every employee, there is a date when he/she joined the company and there is a leaving date - that's always filled. For those still here, there's some future date in there.

<=> I will need to generate the information whether that employee was with the company in a present month - for simplicity, on the 1st of a month.

If I had a way of dynamically (in the script) generating the names of months until the present day, I could just generate one more field for every month in that LOAD statement containing an X if an employee has an entry_date before the 1st of that month and a leaving_date after the 1st - or last, if it can be done - of that month.

Up to now, I cannot think of a way I could generate those months.

Can anybody help me there?

Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

DataNibbler

5 Replies
datanibbler
Champion
Champion
Author

Hi,

I have now found a way to do this on GUI level that should also work on scripting level:

- I can generate the numeric value of the present month

- By using the >> Monthstart(TODAY(), -X) << expression and counting down from this value to 0, I can do it.

=> I now have to write a loop and run through that as many times (seven times currently) to generate one new field for every past month of this year.

<=> I would like to be able to do this faster, without the need for (currently 7, max. 12) RESIDENT LOADs...

kaushiknsolanki
Partner Ambassador/MVP