Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
datanibbler
Champion
Champion

How to find out names that exist twice?

Hi,

please help me - this must be relatively simple to do - I would have known how to do it in the software I worked with in my last job, just not in QlikView.

- I have a masterdata table with all employees.

- Employees who started as contract workers, but were eventually adopted, have two records: They get a different number, only the name stays the same.

- I want to load (RESIDENT, for I have already loaded the masterdata table) only those records where one name has two records - all two of them per pair, if possible, together with one other field that I have to check also.

- I have tried using the PEEK fct. inside a WHERE clause (after sorting) to get only those where the name equals that in the record above, that worked, but it returned 0 records.

- I know I could load aggregated data using a COUNT or COUNT(DISTINCT), but that would not help me, would it?

Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

DataNibbler

9 Replies
abeyphilip
Creator II
Creator II

Hi,

Try

load name,

count(name) as name_Count

resident x

group by name;

Then you can left join this with x using name

And then you can do a resident load again with a field to flag off records with name_Count >= 2.

Regards,

Abey

rlp
Creator
Creator

Let's assume that your number field is named numeric_id.

In the preceding answer, there is a typo error: you should replace count(name) by:

count(numeric_id) as number_count

You can do it in the dashboard with a pivot table whose first dimension is a calculated one:

aggr(

count( DISTINCT numeric_id )

name

)

and the following dimensions are: name , numeric_id.

As expresssions of your pivot table, take

count(DISTINCT name)

and

count( DISTINCT numeric_id)

to obtain the volume of the pairs.

datanibbler