Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

I thought QlikView was supposed to be easy to learn

Hello Everyone,

Of course I'm a newbie not only to this product but from a technical perspective BI in general. I'm not finding this product to be user friendly at all. Perhaps it's just the newness of it all but I'm wondering did anyone else fell this way at the start?

40 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

It depends on your BI and SQL background. I was able to demo a Sales application within 24 hours. But others I work with took considerably longer, primarily with the scripting. You'll get it, then you'll fall in love!

johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Brian wrote:It depends on your BI and SQL background.

Good point there. I have a decent SQL background, but not a BI or interface-design background. My main prior experience was as the guy designing and/or coding the complicated background pieces of software, not the front end part that the users are dealing with. So I very quickly had data loaded in and was making some basic charts, and even writing some macros, but it took some book reading and some practice before I was producing things like professional-looking dashboards.

Not applicable
Author

I'm also new to this, and I'm gobsmacked by the lack of clarity.

I've got a lovely .csv of data. (International cricketers by country, date of birth etc etc, for those who are interested in analysing the impact of birth month on sporting success!). I'd like to use it to test out Qlikview