Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Unable to find *.msi file while installing server

Hi all,

I am new to qlikview. Can someone guide me on how to install it. I have followed the reference manual. But stopped here as i was not able to find the mentioned *.msi file in the given path.

Hope some can help me out so that i can start the deployment.

After installing and restarting the system i am unable to find required *.msi file. For reference i have copied the screen shot of that.

error loading image

Also i am not able to find the path as mentioned as optional in the reference manual

C:\Users\username\App-Data\Local

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Reference manual points~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Obtaining the MSI package
If you need the msi package for installation you have to extract it from the
exe file.

1 Start the installation from the exe file and let the first dialog open.
2 In the temp folder in C:\Documents and Settings\username\
Local Settings, or C:\Users\username\App-
Data\Local depending on you operating system, you will find the
msi file under a random name, e.g. ed34g.msi.

3 Copy the msi file to a location of your choice.
4 Exit the exe installation.
5 Install using the msi (see below for silent installation). See also
Deploying MSI packages with Group policies in Appendix D.

Silent Installation

To make a silent installation start the msi file, 32-bit or 64-bit, from the command
line with the following parameters for the msi package:
msiexec /i QvsSetupRedist.msi MYUSERNAME=domain\username
MYPASSWORD=password /l*v log.txt /qn
and for the exe file:
msiexec /i QvsSetupRedist.exe MYUSERNAME=domain\username
MYPASSWORD=password /l*v log.txt /qn
where domain\username is the domain and username of the user you wish the
QlikView Server/Publisher services to run as, password is the password of that user,
/l*v creates a log for the installation and /qn makes the installation silent.