Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to get the values of the earliest/latest month relative to the quarter?

Hi. I'm new to QlikView and needing help. My concern is that I can't get the correct values when there are no current selections.

I used the expression:

=Sum({$<QUARTER=P({1<MONTH={$(vMinMonth)}>}QUARTER)>}OPEN_BAL)

where:

vMinMonth =min(num(MONTH))

There's probably a syntax missing in the expressions used. Or is there a more practical way to do this?  I attached a sample file for your reference. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Used these expressions:

=sum(Aggr(If(Min(TOTAL<QUARTER> MONTH) = MONTH, sum(OPEN_BAL)),COMPANY, QUARTER, MONTH))

=sum(Aggr(If(Max(TOTAL<QUARTER> MONTH) = MONTH, sum(CLOSE_BAL)),COMPANY, QUARTER, MONTH))

19 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Yes I do agree with sergey

So what month u select u ll get the result according to dat quarter in which dat month falls.

SergeyMak
Partner Ambassador
Partner Ambassador

So, you can use my previous solution if you additionally select month

or use new file

I've just add ,QUARTER={'=MAX(QUARTER)'} to set analysis

Regards,
Sergey
Not applicable
Author

Well, for example, if I selected only February and March (2 and 3), the minimum/earliest month of the first quarter should be the value 2. The values of the expressions should also change corresponding to those selections.

SergeyMak
Partner Ambassador
Partner Ambassador

I use MAX(QUARTER) not MONTH

Regards,
Sergey
Not applicable
Author

The values didn't change. Although, I can consider this if I can't find a dynamic solution. Thanks.

SergeyMak
Partner Ambassador
Partner Ambassador

Elli Xi,

Could you clarify with example what does it mean "dynamic", what number should change in which case in your opinion?

Regards,
Sergey
Not applicable
Author