Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Set Analysis Documentation

Dear All, I'm a newly joined buddy.

I've been using qlikview for many years but on custom modeled solutions ( since V 5.* ) that didn't allow me to dive into new, exciting Qlikview features, such as Set Analysis.

Perhaps, I'm wrong but it seems to me that standard users manual doesn't provide an "academic" guide to the syntax, just a few examples on its usage.

Can anyone provide me a good Pdf? I also work with OLAP on Microsoft and some "set analysis strange behaviors" leave me incredulous.

As an example, I've downloaded your .qvw app that explains and provide examples of usage of set analysis for YTD calculation.

On that app, i've tried to get a pivot with just 3 columns : "Date" ( dimension) , "Current sales" and "Previous Year Sales" ( expression )

While "current sales" ( that is Sum(LineSalesAmount) ) works fine ( obviously ! ) , the "Previous Year Sales" doesn't .

It's defined as " =Sum({$ < Date ={$(=(AddMonths(Date,-12)))}>} LineSalesAmount) "

It might be a good example for Trend Analysis ( current year vs previous year ).

Can anyone help either with a pdf or answering this? Thanks, it's greatly appreciated!

Fabrizio.

2 Replies
Not applicable
Author

I believe the Set Analysis section in the Reference Manual is the only official documentation available. This forum is also a great resource. Utilizing the search feature may find other posts looking for similar answers.