Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
vishnus85
Partner - Creator
Partner - Creator

How to automate the process of assigning Named/User licenses to the dashboards ?

Hi,

I am a novice at qlikview admin side though I was developing dashboards for a couple pf years now.

So if I sound silly, kindly excuse me. I need expert guidance.

In our organization, we initially had just a couple of dashboards and users less than 50 in count. Things were fine with managing the licenses and user access to various dashboards. But as time pass by we are deploying more and more newer dashboards and the user base would be hitting 400 very soon. The problem we face now due to the increase in number of dashboards and users is the maintenance and assignment of CALs (both named as well as document).

Almost all users access dashboards through access point and does not have qlikview client installed in their machines.

We started getting frequent requests to add/remove the access multiple users to/from multiple dashboards. We do this manually now and is very time consuming.

The process we currently follow to give access to a user to a new dashboard is like,

- check if the user already has a named cal allocated

if YES, add him to the distribution list of the new dashboard task to give him access.

if NO, then add 1 to the number of document cals to this new dashboard and then add him to the distribution list of the new dashboard task to give him access.

So now if a request comes to add 5 users to 5 dashboards, we have to do this process one user at a time and thus 25 times.