Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Question on List box expression

Hi -

This is a simple question, with I hope a simple answer.  I have a Master Calendar with a Trade_Calendar_Quarter column.  It is 1, 2, 3, or 4 depending upon in which quarter the date falls.  I can create a list box with that column in it, and it shows 1, 2, 3, and 4, as expected.  I wanted it to look nice, so I made it an expression:

='Q' & Trade_Calendar_Quarter

With that as the expression, it shows Q, Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q4.  The Q is grayed out, as it is not possible.

So the question is really two questions: why does that happen, and how can I not have the Q show up?

16 Replies
nilo_pontes
Partner - Creator
Partner - Creator

Blair, try the Dual function.

i.e.: Dual('Q' & Trade_Calendar_Quarter,Trade_Calendar_Quarter)

Best regards

jagan
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hi,

I think you have null values or not a valid date values in the column Trade_Calendar_Quarter.  I think it is better to create a new field instead of in frontend as calculated dimension

LOAD

If(Len(Trade_Calendar_Quarter) > 0 AND IsNum(Trade_Calendar_Quarter) <> 0, 'Q' & Trade_Calendar_Quarter) AS Quarter

FROM DataSource;

If you want the same in expression then try like this

=if(len(trim(Trade_Calendar_Quarter))>0 AND IsNum(Trade_Calendar_Quarter) <> 0, 'Q' & Trade_Calendar_Quarter)

Hope this helps you.

Regards,

Jagan.

Not applicable
Author

I'm going to call this answered as it does work.  But I am still confused about why the expression

Q-' & Trade_Calendar_Quarter as Quarter

works in the load script but

Q-' & Trade_Calendar_Quarter

introduces the blank Q.  And just using Trade_Calendar_Quarter in the list produces just 1 through 4.